Newbury Racecourse

Newbury Racecourse

Key Characteristics

Newbury is a Class 1 racecourse and the facilities are everything that you would expect from such a racecourse. Set in the Berkshire countryside they are also very welcoming and down to earth.

Newbury is a left handed track which can be described as galloping. The straight mile course is undulating throughout. One of the fairest courses in the country, though its galloping nature makes it ideal for the big, long-striding type, and the track becomes testing in inclement weather. Whilst the majority of the action on the straight course usually takes place on the stand rail, those who choose to come down the centre of the track instead can find themselves at an advantage.

Draw Bias & Pace Analysis

Newbury is a very wide track and the stalls are positioned in the middle of the track for 5 furlong to one mile races. Races often develop with outside stalls (low & high) pulling in to leave a pack coming down the middle of the track (this can be two or even three packs with large fields). The draw advantage often follows the pace in the race.

The stats tell us that there is no draw bias and horses can win from any draw.

Because Newbury is a big wide open course it is very hard for front runners as the stats below indicate.

In terms of the individual distances, shown below is how Newbury ranks :

5 Furlongs – 27th out of 31 courses

6 Furlongs – 24th out of 29 courses
7 Furlongs – 19th out of 24 courses
8 Furlongs – 24th out of 30 courses

Newbury is among the most difficult courses in the country for front runners and this applies to longer distances as well with the 1m3f being one with only a very few front runner winners. This can be put down to the fact that there is a long flat run in which helps hold up horses and there are very few hard luck stories.

Trainers & Jockeys


Charlie Appleby 32.3
William Haggas 24.5
John Gosden 24.3
Mark Johnston 18.0
Ed Walker 15.8
Ralf Beckett 13.9
Sir Michael Stoute 13.8



Frankie Dettori 29.1
William Buick 26.4
James Doyle 19.4
Jim Crowley 16.0
Ryan Moore 15.7
Silvestre De Sousa 14.3
Jamie Spencer 12.2
Newbury Racecourse